About the Vermont Product Stewardship Council


The Vermont Product Stewardship Council (VTPSC) was formed to shift Vermont’s product waste management system from one focused on government funded and ratepayer financed waste diversion to one that relies on producer responsibility in order to reduce public costs and drive improvements in product design that promote environmental sustainability. The Council works to integrate the principles of product stewardship into the policy and economic structures of Vermont.


Our vision is that producers have the primary responsibility to establish, fund, and manage end of life systems for their products with State government setting the performance goals and ensuring accountability and transparency

Who we are

We are an organization of local governments that work with State government, waste and recycling companies, water quality organizations, businesses of all types, non-profit organizations and product consumers to reduce waste and bring good public policy to the materials management industry.

Council members

Members of the VTPSC consist of cities, counties, towns, regional solid waste districts and alliances or other local government bodies that:

Chittenden Solid Waste District – Jen Holliday
Addison County Solid Waste District – Teresa Kuczynski
Central Vermont Solid Waste Management District – Leesa Stewart
Greater Upper Valley Solid Waste District – Tom Kennedy
Windham Solid Waste District – Bob Spencer
Lamoille Regional Solid Waste Management District – Susan Alexander
Mad River Resource Management Alliance – John Malter
Northeast Kingdom Waste Management District – Marcus Berry
Rutland County Solid Waste District – James O’Gorman
Solid Waste Alliance Communities – Pamela Clapp
Southern Windsor/Windham Counties Solid Waste Management District – Mary O’Brien
Northwest Solid Waste Management District – John Leddy
Londonderry Solid Waste Group – Esther Fishman
White River Alliance – Chet Brown
Bennington County Regional Commission – Michael Batcher, Regional Planner/Solid Waste Program Manager
Town of Burke – Sam Sanderson

If you represent local government and are interested in being a member, our Letter of Agreement outlines the Council’s mission, objectives, and gives a more detailed explanation of the Council. Sign the pledge at the end of the letter, and fax or mail the form to the VTPSC. Membership is subject to approval. For questions, contact Jennifer Holliday, VTPSC Chair.


VTPSC Partners are local, state, regional and federal government agencies, businesses, and nonprofit groups and other associations that support the VTPSC mission and product stewardship principles. Partners can participate in any of the subcommittee projects and programs.

Light-Works, Inc. – Martin Feldman, President
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center – John Leigh, Manager, Waste & Recycling Programs
Connecticut River Conservancy – Kathy Urffer, River Steward
Vermont Small Business Development Center – Peter Crawford
Casella – Abbie Webb, Sustainability Director
Vermont Agency of Natural Resources

We welcome more Partners signing on in the future. Our Partner Pledge outlines the VTPSC mission and objectives available for Partners to sign onto. Fill out the Pledge and fax or mail the form to the VTPSC (the address is on the form). Membership is subject to approval. You will be contacted by a Council member regarding your membership. For questions about being a Partner, contact Jennifer Holliday, VTPSC Chair.